Conference Committee – 2019

Conference Hosts

West Australian Landcare Network (WALN)
The WA Landcare Network (WALN) is the peak state landcare body established to represent and support the network of diverse community organisations working together to address Western Australia’s most challenging environmental problems.

Conference Strategic Committee

Department of Planning Lands and Heritage (DPLH)
The Department of Planning, Lands and Heritage is the Government’s principal advisor providing expertise in land use planning to the Minister for Planning and the Western Australian Planning Commission.
The Department undertakes a range of activities to support the implementation of State Planning Policy 2.6 State Coastal Planning Policy, which provides for the long term sustainability of Western Australia’s coast.

State Natural Resource Management (NRM) Program
The State NRM Program is an initiative of the Western Australian Government which recognises the efforts of community-based, not-for-profit NRM groups by supporting them to achieve outcomes that benefit the environment for all Western Australians. Over 1100 projects have been supported with over $100 million in grants since 2009.

West Australian Local Government Association (WALGA)

WALGA’s key focus is working for local government in Western Australia, and advocates on behalf of 138 WA local governments and negotiates service agreements for the sector.

Conference Organising Committee

NameExternal Organisation and RoleConference Role/s
Louise DuxburyWA Landcare Network
Co -Exec Officer 
Conference Organising committee Co-Chairperson
Conference Host (WALN) Co-Coordinator

Garry Middle

Senior Coastal Management Consultant
(previously 2017 Conference Chair)

Conference Organising Committee Co-Chairperson
Coastal Management Sub-committee member

Dave Collard

Dave Collard & Associates

Conference Organising Committee Aboriginal Co-Chair  

Blair Darvill

WA Landcare Network
Co -Exec Officer

Conference Host (WALN) Co-Coordinator
Conference organising committee member

Mark Batty

WA Local Government Association
Executive Manager – Environment and Waste

Conference Organising Committee member
Ellena BromwellDepartment of Transport
Coastal Engineer

Coastal sub-committee
Tracy Marescia
Event & Conference Co.

Conference Secretariat 
Keith BradbyWA Landcare Network – ChairpersonLandcare / NRM sub-committee Chairperson
Jo LudbrookAustralian Coastal Society
WA Chapter Chairperson
Coastal Management Sub-committee Chairperson
Helen BrookesWAPC Coastal Planning Committee
Coastal Management Sub-committee 
John HolleyWA Landcare Network committee memberSponsorship sub-committee Chairperson
Caroline HughesWA Landcare Network
Communications Officer
Communications support
Paul BodlovichNRMWA
Conference Organising Committee
NRM/ Landcare sub-committee member
Chris LukesCoastal Zone Management Coordinator
Department of Planning Lands and Heritage
Conference Organising Committee
Coastal Sub-committee member
Coastal Awards Coordinator

Vivienne Panizza

Planning Manger
Department of Planning Lands and Heritage
Committee Member
Helen WatkinsWA Landcare Network Treasurer/ SecretaryInsurance and finance support
Craig MagowanState NRM Office
Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development
Conference Organising Committee
Schools/ Youth sub-committee member
Deb Slater- LeeState NRM Office
Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development
Conference Organising Committee
NRM/ Landcare sub-committee member
WA Landcare Awards (in conjunction with Landcare Australia)
Mick DavisWA Landcare Network
Committee Member
Conference Organising Committee
Schools/ Youth subcommittee Chairperson
Pierre HorwitzECU Professor of Environmental Sciences
Director, Centre for Ecosystem Management
ECU Landcare/NRM and Coastal Management Academic support
Elsa ChewECU Student Guild
Senator – Environmental Officer
Schools and Youth sub-committee
Rebecca MaccarioCity of Joondalup
A/Manager Strategic and Organisational Development
Conference Organising Committee
Heidi KhojastehCity of Joondalup
Senior Environmental Project Officer
Conference Organising Committee
Coastal Sub-committee member
James Gilbert

City of Joondalup
Youth Outreach Worker 
Schools/ Youth sub-committee support
Jason Barrows
ECU Joondalup
Aboriginal Facilitator
Aboriginal sub-committee
Kate SputorePerth NRM
Coastal Program Manager
Coastal Management Sub-committee